Business valuation


When do you need a business valuation?

• Normally, when making a purchase or sale of a business
• Liquidation or insolvency proceedings
• IPO
• Mergers
• Change of shareholders or partnerships
• Management Buyout
• Expropriation

Common to these occasions is, that they all lead to a change of ownership. This means, that the ownership transition with regard to the share of the Company, from one to the other party. Errors in company valuation often result from poor definition of objectives or inaccurate compilation of historical data.

The various methods

Evaluation method

This method is used to determine the gross capital value of the company. Future incoming and outgoing payments are determined and discounted to the present day. For this it is important that we choose realistic future interest rates and predict the future cash flows as closely as possible. This is also the biggest challenge at the income capitalization approach. Prerequisite for a reliable prediction is thus logically a clean past analysis. This is classically divided into 6 areas:

• Definition of the evaluation object
• Representation of the legal and contractual conditions
• Market analysis including all products
• Overview of the financial situation
• Strengths and weaknesses analysis
• Analysis of production capacities, required investment, opening up new sources of finance and human capital

Since it is a future forecasting and management is at best react differently to different changes in the market, several scenarios are often played out and counted. These are assessed with a risk factor and weighed. This then results in a weighted average.

Discounted cash flow method

As with the income value, future cash flows are analyzed in the DCF method. However, this is possible in two different ways. On the one hand there is the gross method ( entity approach ) and on the other the net method ( equity approach). The gross method is expected with the APV (Adjusted Present – value ) and the WACC ( Weighted Average Cost of Capital). The net method brings out the flow to equity , which is the income of the discounted cash flow method .

Details about the different key figures you can find on Wikipedia:
WACC
APV
Flow to equity

None of the various methods is preferable to the other. Because they are based on different assumptions, the results differ from each other. A weighted average can finally make sense and reflect the company’s value well.

The single assessment procedure

This is divided into two areas: liquidation value and net asset value. In the former, the balance sheet is analyzed by product, which a single busting value can be assigned. The total amount of the transfer fee will be charged subsequently debt.  When asset value is more about the value, which continuation of the company generates or maintains. The ideology behind this is that the company is at least as much valuable as an identical start-up of the same company. Assets and liabilities are divided into mission-critical and non-operating items. From practice, then it often knows that the asset value will be charged ultimately with the discounted cash flow in a mixing process.

 

Common mistakes in business valuation

Aside from some unrealistic assumptions and forecasts , to determine the company’s value can lead to poor results. Common mistakes are :

• Inaccurate Definition of the evaluation object

• Inadequate analysis of the past

• Errors in discounting

• Risks are hidden

• Synergies from mergers estimated wrongly

• Seemingly not relativized accurate data

• Too optimistic forecast of future earnings

Thank you very much for your interest in this article. I hope you succeed in buying or selling at a good price. If you need business help in this process, I would be very happy if you contact me. contact@baumann-finance.ch

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Unternehmensbewertung


Wann braucht man eine Unternehmensbewertung?

  • Normalerweise bei einem Kauf oder Verkauf eines Unternehmens
  • Liquidation oder Insolvenzverfahren
  • IPO (Börsengang)
  • Fusionen
  • Gesellschafterwechsel bei Personengesellschaften
  • Management Buyout
  • Enteignung

Gemeinsam ist diesen Anlässen, dass sie alle zu einer Änderung der Eigentumsverhältnisse führen. Darunter ist zu verstehen, dass die Eigentumsrechte hinsichtlich des Anteils am Unternehmen von einer auf die andere Partei übergehen. Fehler bei der Unternehmensbewertung resultieren häufig aus mangelhafter Zieldefinition oder aus ungenauer Zusammenstellung der Vergangenheitsdaten.

Die verschiedenen Verfahren

Das Ertragswertverfahren

Dieses Verfahren dient zur Ermittlung des Bruttokapitalwerts der Unternehmung. Zukünftige Zahlungsein- und Ausgänge werden ermittelt und auf den heutigen Tag abgezinst. Dazu ist es wichtig, dass wir realistische zukünftige Zinssätze wählen und die zukünftigen Geldflüsse möglichst genau vorhersagen. Dies ist zugleich die grösste Challenge beim Ertragswertverfahren. Voraussetzung für eine zuverlässige Prognose ist somit logischerweise eine saubere Vergangenheitsanalyse. Diese wird klassischerweise in 6 Bereiche aufgeteilt:

  • Definition des Bewertungsgegenstandes
  • Darstellung der rechtlichen und vertraglichen Verhältnisse
  • Marktanalyse inklusive aller Produkte
  • Übersicht über die finanzielle Situation
  • Stärken und Schwächenanalyse
  • Analyse der Produktionskapazitäten, erforderliche Investitionen, Erschliessung neuer Finanzquellen und personelle Gegebenheiten

Da es sich um eine Zukunftsprognose handelt und das Management allenfalls auf verschiedene Marktveränderungen unterschiedlich reagieren wird, werden oft mehrere Szenarien durchgespielt und gerechnet. Diese werden mit einem Risikofaktor eingeschätzt und abgewogen. Daraus ergibt sich dann ein gewichteter Mittelwert.

Discounted-Cash-Flow-Verfahren

Wie auch beim Ertragswert, werden beim DCF Verfahren die zukünftigen Geldflüsse analysiert. Allerdings ist dies auf zwei unterschiedliche Arten möglich. Auf der einen Seite gibt es das Bruttoverfahren (Entity Approach) und auf der anderen das Nettoverfahren (Equity Approach).  Das Bruttoverfahren wird mit dem APV (Adjusted-Present-Value) und den WACC (Weighted Average Cost of Capital) gerechnet. Das Nettoverfahren bringt den Flow to Equity heraus, was dem Ertrag der Ertragswertmethode entspricht.

Details zur Berechnung finden Sie bei Wikipedia:
WACC
APV
Flow to equity

Keines der unterschiedlichen Verfahren ist dem anderen vorzuziehen. Da sie von unterschiedlichen Annahmen ausgehen, weichen die Resultate voneinander ab. Ein gewichteter Mittelwert kann schlussendlich Sinn machen und den Unternehmenswert gut abbilden.

Das Einzelbewertungsverfahren

Dieses teilt sich in die zwei Bereiche Liquidationswert und Substanzwert auf. Bei ersterem wird die Bilanz nach Güter untersucht, welchen ein Einzelzerschlagungswert zugewiesen werden kann. Mit dem Total werden anschliessend die Ablösebeträge der Schulden verrechnet.
Beim Substanzwert geht es mehr um den Wert, welchen das Fortbestehen des Unternehmens generiert oder aufrecht erhält. Die Ideologie dahinter ist, dass das Unternehmen mindestens soviel Wert ist, wie eine identische Neugründung eines gleichen Unternehmens. Die Aktiven und Schulden werden in betriebsnotwendige und nicht betriebsnotwendige Posten unterteilt. Aus der Praxis kennt man es dann oft, dass der Substanzwert schlussendlich mit dem Ertragswert in einem Mischverfahren verrechnet wird.

 

Häufige Fehler bei der Unternehmensbewertung

Mal abgesehen von zum Teil realitätsfremden Annahmen und Prognosen, kann die Ermittlung des Unternehmenswerts zu mangelhaften Ergebnissen führen. Häufige Fehler sind:

  • Ungenaue Definition des Bewertungsobjektes
  • Mangelhafte Vergangenheitsanalyse
  • Fehler bei der Abzinsung
  • Risiken werden ausgeblendet
  • Synergien von Fusionen falsch abgeschätzt
  • Vermeintlich genaue Daten nicht relativiert
  • Zu optimistische Prognose zukünftiger Erträge

 

Ich danke Ihnen herzlich für Ihr Interesse an diesem Beitrag. Ich hoffe Ihr Kauf oder Verkauf gelingt zu einem guten Preis. Sollten Sie betriebswirtschaftliche Hilfe in diesem Prozess benötigen, würde ich mich sehr freuen, wenn Sie mich kontaktieren. contact@baumann-finance.ch

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.