HR-Controlling / Human Resource Controlling 4


Definition and Tasks HR-Controlling

The Human Resource Controlling includes planning, assessment and control of both, the performance of the employees, as well as the staff working in Human Resources. Here it is important, that on the one hand the internal structure of the company will be screened, as well as the market conditions. As usual in Controlling, a distinction is made according to plan, measure, and finally development of further steps to develop. Employees can be defined as a cost factor, value-added potential and as a stakeholder group. HR controlling ensures that competitive advantage can be developed and risks should be early identified and avoided for the company.

Its responsibilities include :  
– Ensuring a high quality reporting  
– Creation of transparency  
– Efficiency improvements  
– Determining value added of all HR measures

HR Controlling instruments

The following instruments are known in the field of HR controlling :

• Staff reports
• Performance measurement systems
• Balance Scorecard
• Benchmarking
• Controlling Competence
• Human Capital Management

I often see in practice the challenge that the reports are much too strong based on hard facts. The key figure is the absolute headcounts figure. Gladly, managers boast against the shareholders that headcounts have been reduced, or they do not grow despite sales growth. The personnel services but were simply purchased externally and partly way more expensive then it would be internally. Also I am a strong advocate of holistic approaches. I would say soft factors must be illuminated and tracked in the future even more. Areas such as employee satisfaction, fluoroscopy the skills of staff as well and incentives via bonuses and commissions are very key issues.

Organisation of HR Controlling

There are two different approaches for the jurisdiction of HR-Controlling. Either you divided the tasks as a staff function without authority, or the tasks are performed by Controlling or HR. I find the best solution in terms of a holistic controlling approach, an affiliation with the Controlling. This ensures that the reports come along in the usual corporate style. In addition, the controllers are the most accomplished, when it comes to issues such as procurement of the numbers from the systems. Undeniably , it is important that the Key Figures are regularly analyzed together with HR. Also inputs for new indicators tend to come from the HR, there are sitting the experts with the market experience and academic training.

 

Video HR-Controlling

As usual, it is important to me to provide – the visually controlled readers – a good video about Human Resource Controlling:

 

Recap HR-Controlling

It should be noted that HR controlling is unfortunately treated in many companies today still neglected. Trends indicate very clearly that HR controlling is one of the key issues in the near future. If we analyze only once the P & L of many companies, we will find that the personnel expenses usually is the largest OPEX post. However, many reportings limit but then only to the detention of the costs and headcounts. In my view this is far too little. The staff is the most valuable asset in a company and should also occupy an important place in the Reporting.

Thank you very much for your interest in this important topic.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 thoughts on “HR-Controlling / Human Resource Controlling

HR-Controlling / Human Resource Controlling 4


Definition und Aufgaben des HR Controllings

Das Human Resource Controlling umfasst Planung, Bewertung und Steuerung sowohl der Leistungsfähigkeit der Mitarbeiter, als auch der Personalarbeit an sich. Wichtig ist es dabei, dass zum einen die interne Struktur der Unternehmung durchleuchtet wird, aber auch die Marktgegebenheiten. Wie gewohnt im Controlling, wird dabei nach Planung, Messung und zum Schluss Erarbeitung von Massnahmen unterschieden. Mitarbeiter können dabei als Kostenfaktor, Wertschöpfungspotential und Anspruchsgruppe definiert werden. HR-Controlling stellt sicher, dass Wettbewerbsvorteile erarbeitet werden können und Risiken fürs Unternehmen frühzeitig erkannt und vermieden werden können.

Zu den Aufgaben gehören:
– Sicherstellung der Berichtserstattung / Reporting
– Herstellung von Transparenz
– Effizienzsteigerungen
– Ermittlung des Wertbeitrags aller HR Massnahmen

Instrumente des HR Controllings

Folgende Instrumente kennt man aus dem Bereich des HR Controllings:

  • Personal Reportings
  • Kennzahlensysteme
  • Balance Scorecard
  • Benchmarking
  • Kompetenz Controlling
  • Human Capital Management

Ich sehe oft in der Praxis das Problem, dass die Reportings viel zu stark auf Hardfacts basiert sind. Die Kennzahl Headcounts ist dabei der absolute Trumpf der heutigen Zeit. Gerne brüsten sich Manager gegenüber den Shareholdern, dass Headcounts abgebaut worden sind, oder diese trotz satten Umsatzplus nicht wachsen. Das die Personalleistungen aber einfach extern und zum Teil teurer eingekauft wurden, zeigt eine solche Betrachtungsweise leider nicht. Ebenfalls bin ich ein starker Verfechter von gesamtheitlichen Betrachtungsweisen. Sprich die Softfakts müssen in Zukunft noch mehr beleuchtet und getrackt werden. Bereiche wie Mitarbeiterzufriedenheit, Durchleuchtung der Skills der Mitarbeiter als auch Incentivierungen via Boni und Provisionen sind dabei sehr zentrale Themen.

 

Organisation des HR-Controlling

Es gibt zwei verschiedene Herangehensweisen für die Zuständigkeit des HR-Controllings. Entweder man gliedert die Aufgaben als Stabsfunktion ohne Weisungsbefugnis an, oder die Aufgaben wird vom Controlling oder dem HR wahrgenommen. Ich finde die beste Lösung, im Sinne eines gesamtheitlichen Controllingsansatzes, eine Angliederung beim Controlling. So kann sichergestellt werden, dass die Reportings im Corporate gewohnten Design daherkommen. Ausserdem sind die Controller am versiertesten, wenn es um Punkte wie Beschaffung der Zahlen aus den Systemen geht. Unbestritten ist es aber wichtig, dass zusammen mit HR regelmässig die Key Figures analysiert werden. Auch Inputs für neue Kennzahlen kommen eher aus dem HR, sitzen da doch die Experten mit der Markterfahrung und den schulischen Ausbildungen.

 

Video HR-Controlling

Wie gewohnt ist es mir wichtig – den visuell gesteuerten Lesern – ein gutes Video über Human Resource Controlling näher zu bringen:

 

Fazit HR-Controlling

Es bleibt festzuhalten, dass HR-Controlling in vielen Unternehmen heute leider immernoch stiefmütterlich behandelt wird. Trends deuten jedoch sehr klar daraufhin, dass HR-Controlling eines DER Themen in der nahen Zukunft wird. Analysieren wir nur einmal die P&L vieler Firmen, werden wir feststellen, dass der Personalaufwand meistens der grösste OPEX-Posten ist. Jedoch beschränken sich viele Reportings anschliessend aber nur auf die Festhaltung der Kosten und Headcounts. Aus meiner Sicht ist dies deutlich zu wenig. Der Mitarbeiter ist das wertvollste Gut in einer Unternehmung und sollte bezüglich Reporting auch einen wichtigen Platz erhalten.

Ich bedanke mich herzlich für Ihr Interesse.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

4 Gedanken zu “HR-Controlling / Human Resource Controlling