Key Figures: Return on investment


Return on Investment: Who doesn’t like to get something back for his investment?

 

Calculation:
ROI = (profit / revenue) * (sales / total capital)

The widespread “return on investment” factor multiples the profitability with the turnover rate of the capital. Thus, many value drivers can be compared (sales, coverage, stocks). The invested capital should generate a return flow.

Total capital = balance sheet total (simplified). Adjusted: Total Capital = Equity + Liabilities (excluding current liabilities). In order to not distort this factor by the actual operating purpose, the ordinary operating result and not the profit should be used. The ordinary operating result does not include any interest rates, no extraordinary items and no taxes.

The return on investment is also used on investment projects. Further explanations can be found on Wikipedia. A target value of> 10% should be taxed as a goal for all companies. In capital-intensive industries it is rather a bit less.

A meaningful interpretation is only possible if the result can be split accordingly. In this way, a manipulation of the key figure can be seen. If, for example, a declining return on sales is compensated by a corresponding smaller capital injection, the result of the abbreviated formula remains unaffected. In addition, fluctuations in the result can thus be attributed to changes in the return on sales or the turnover rate of the capital and thus to be investigated more precisely.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Kennzahl : Return on Investment (ROI)


Return on Investment : Wer kriegt nicht gerne etwas für seine Investitionen zurück?

 

Berechnung:
ROI = (Gewinn / Umsatz) * (Umsatz / Gesamtkapital)

 

Die weit verbreitete Kennzahl „Return on Investment“ multipliziert die Umsatzrentabilität mit der Umschlagshäufigkeit des Kapitals. So können viele Werttreiber miteinander verglichen werden (Umsatz, Deckungsbeitrag, Bestände). Das eingesetzte Kapital sollte einen Rückfluss erwirtschaften.

 

Gesamtkapital = Bilanzsumme (vereinfacht). Bereinigt: Gesamtkapital = Eigenkapital + Verbindlichkeiten (ohne kurzfristige Verbindlichkeiten).
Um diese Kennzahl nicht durch dem eigentlichen Betriebszweck dienende Einflüsse zu verfälschen, sollte das ordentliche Betriebsergebnis und nicht der Gewinn herangezogen werden. Das ordentliche Betriebsergebnis enthält keine Zinserfolge, keine außerordentlichen Posten und auch keine Steuern.

 

Der Return on Investment wird gerne auch auf Investitionsprojekte gerechnet. Nähere Erklärungen dazu findet Ihr auf Wikipedia. Als Kennzahl für das gesamte Unternehmen berechnet, sollte ein Zielwert von >10% angesteuert werden. In der kapitalintensiven Industrie ist es eher ein bisschen weniger.

 

Eine sinnvolle Interpretation ist immer nur dann möglich, wenn das Ergebnis entsprechend aufgespaltet werden kann. Auf diese Weise ist eine Manipulation der Kennzahl ersichtlich. Denn wird beispielsweise eine sinkende Umsatzrendite durch einen entsprechenden kleineren Kapitaleinsatz kompensiert, so bleibt das Ergebnis der verkürzten Formel davon unberührt. Außerdem lassen sich Fluktuationen im Ergebnis somit auf Veränderungen der Umsatzrendite oder der Umschlagshäufigkeit des Kapitals zurückführen und damit genauer erforschen.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.